If you are trying to find gelatin substitutes that are not animal based for either ethical or religious reasons then you might consider using carrageenan. While there are many new types of plant-based gelatin substitutes the majority of people out there are currently using carrageenan and do not even realize it! Whenever you come across a recipe that calls for gelatin you now have a more ethical, sustainable option available to you provided you do some research on your end.
Finding the Right Supplier
The initial step is identifying which manufacturer is reliable and which is not. Start the process by compiling a list of the various companies that produce these gelatin alternatives. When you have the names of these gelatin alternatives you will need to find out where they are located, if they are located in a country that has poor quality control measures in place then it may be prudent to screen them carefully. The first thing you have to find out is how long the company has been producing these gelatin alternatives, the longer they have been in operation the more information you should be able to find o the. Something that you will need to carefully look into is whether the company has recalls or had some in recent years, if they have active recalls it would be prudent to not deal with that particular supplier since there is a risk the products they sell could be tainted or toxic! After you have verified that the manufacturer is reputable and doesn’t have any outstanding product recalls you can begin looking for vendors that are selling them.
Picking the Most Suitable Retailer
When you are satisfied that a particular brand of plant-based gelatin replacement is safe your focus can now shift to finding a suitable retailer to buy it from. Gather the names of all the various retailers that are selling these products. After you have the names of the various merchants you will need to find out whether they have a variety of different products or are they relying on one specific product to generate all of their income. Generally speaking, it would be wise to focus on retailers that offer a variety of different plant-based products so they do not try to gouge you from one single product line.
Now that you know which of these retailers are selling the type of gelatin alternatives you are keen in buying you have to find out what each of them will be charging you for the products. While noting the prices that are being quoted you also have to find out whether there are additional costs like shipping, if the cost of shipping is not included then you must confirm it so you know what the total price is for the gelatin replacement before you move forward and make a buying decision.
These tips will help make the process of switching over to an ethical gelatin replacement much easier so be sure to follow these suggestions and everything will be fine.